Twitter @thetvking RSS Facebook Feedback

Jamie's Great Britain

Premier :: 2011-10-25

Airs :: Tuesday 9:00 PM on Channel 4

Genre :: Home and Garden

Jamie's Great Britain poster
Image provided by thetvdb.com


In this six-part series Jamie Oliver travels the length and breadth of the country in search of new ideas and inspiration for recipes and to find out what makes British food great. Jamie discovers that many of the dishes we think of as British classics aren't `British' at all, but full of influences from around the world through invasion, exploration, colonisation and immigration. Over six programmes, Jamie visits Yorkshire, The Heart of England, Essex and East London, Bristol and Somerset, South Wales and Scotland, and cooks delicious classic dishes with a twist, combining the traditional with the new including apple pepperpot pudding, tandoori roast chicken with Bombay roasties, and Yorkshire pudding with potted smoked trout.

Latest Episode

Series 1 - Episode 6 - Scotland
Aired - 29 November 2011

Episode summary:

Jamie Oliver concludes his journey around Britain in the west of Scotland, where he discovers a food culture just as distinctive as the rugged landscape. Jamie finds how haggis, a Viking invention, is being given a West Indian twist in Glasgow's oldest Scottish restaurant. He joins fisherman Hector Stewart to go scallop diving in the River Clyde and cooks up seared scallops with crispy black pudding and creamy clapshot. In Striven, Jamie unlocks the secret of the Arbroath smokie and harvests rope-grown mussels, before using both products to create a Scottish version of a French classic - MacMoule mariniere. Jamie discovers how to cook the indestructible dried fruit dessert - the clootie dumpling, helps out on a pheasant shoot, and brings his adventure to a close with an ambitious feast combining the best of local game with an Italian recipe - mouth-watering seared venison loin with Scottish risotto and golden pheasant hash.

Watch Episodes Online - Episode Guide

+ Series 1

+ Episode - 6 Scotland Aired - 29 November 2011
+ Episode - 5 The West Country Aired - 22 November 2011
+ Episode - 4 The Heart of England Aired - 15 November 2011
+ Episode - 3 South Wales Aired - 08 November 2011
+ Episode - 2 Yorkshire Aired - 01 November 2011

Jamie's Great Britain Cast List

No cast information available.

Jamie's Great Britain Comments

Latest Jamie's Great Britain News

There is no news available.

Jamie's Great Britain Reviews

There are no reviews available.
Instantly watch from thousands of TV episodes & movies streaming from Netflix. Try Netflix for FREE!
This Week